Harry Potter: An ‘Antidote’ for my Depression

 

I’m the first one to say that there is no 100% cure for depression, it is something that many people (including myself) battle with everyday and will probably battle with for a long time in the future.

But J.K. Rowling’s World of Harry Potter comes pretty close to it; and what her stories don’t cure, chocolate makes up for!

tumblr_maofw9s4vl1r2xmpk

I can’t remember when my liking for Harry Potter turned into an obsession/ coping strategy but I can’t imagine my life without it.

I’ve lost count the number of times I have wanted to end things, give up or just curl up in a ball and wait for things to go away.

When this happens I have one solution: watch a Harry Potter film.

Half way through the film my mood changes for the better 9 times out of 10 and often results in an urge to do some self-care or something productive.

The comical rants of Mrs Weasley (which I know word-for-word) never fail to make me giggle and from then on its a slippery slope into happiness.

But Harry Potter isn’t just filled with a magical world of wizardry that brings laughter, joy and in many ways safety from the outside world. J.K.Rowling’s writings bring insights into struggles with mental health that sometimes we need to hear:

“Darkness can be found even in the darkest of times, if only one remembers to turn on the light” – Albus Dumbledore

Just one of the many messages that have been the difference between me giving up or moving forward with whatever it is I’m facing. Other favorites include:

“No good sittin’ worryin’ abou’ it. What’s comin’ will come, an’ we’ll meet it when it does.” – Hagrid

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean it is not real?” – Albus Dumbledore

“Don’t let the Muggles get you down” – Ron Weasley 

The practical plus side to this series is that it comes in so many different formats. Right now I am sitting with my Fantastic Beasts jumper on, my Gryffindor mug at my side and my Harry Potter screensaver slideshow playing in the background and I have never felt more at home.

I took all 8 original films with me to Korea, watched Fantastic Beasts twice whilst out there and listened to Stephen Fry read the books for hours at night when I couldn’t sleep.

The magic of Harry Potter has become so accessible I can’t escape it and I don’t ever want to. Knowing that whether its waiting for me at home, is a touch of a button away or even sitting in a shop window is such a great comfort when everything seems like its going to end. Its constant and with depression you have to hold onto those moments whilst you can because everything is changing and sometimes you have to brace yourself for when it does.

I guess what I am trying to say in this long ass post is that Harry Potter has taught me so much and continues to remind me of those lessons even in the darkest of times. For this I will be forever grateful.

Ruthie ~

P.S if ever anyone wants to chat Harry Potter you can find my on instagram @theenglishhobbit or you can contact me on this blog xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

