Best Knitting Project For Beginners

Blankets. Now hear me out – I have tons of reasons why such a daunting task is actually one of the easiest projects in the world.

As you can see I like making blankets; I’m on my 5th one now – I don’t have a problem I swear.

So, onto why these are the best projects for a beginner knitter.

Difficulty
These blankets can be as easy or as difficult as you want to make them. The blankets up above are done with single colour squares knitted separately with garter stitch – the first stitch you learn when knitting. When you become more advanced you can change up the squares with different stitches and additional colors if you want.

Make Your Own Pattern
I have never used a pattern for any of my blankets. I did a lot of math and calculated my own. But you don’t have to do that. I won’t provide the exact figures for my blankets cos I still wanna sell these babies one day but here’s a rough guide:

Cast on stitches: 13-45
Rows: 20 – 100*

*These figures are based on 4mm straight needles (I have at least 3 pairs of these).ย 

Depending on how small you want to make your squares you will need to vary the length and width (I’ve found double cast on stitches = number of rows provides the best result). Have a play around with cheap wool (Poundland do 3 for ยฃ1) if you aren’t sure.

With regards to the size of the blanket, it is all down to preference. My purple blanket is bigger than my baby blanket because it was for my mum and not a baby (duh). Best advice – knit a square, measure it’s width and length and then do a bit of math or count it out on paper. You can always knit more/less as you go along.

Cost
This blanket can be as cheap or as expensive as you want. I have made a blanket with wool from Poundland and I have spent over 30 quid on wool for another one.

If you are just starting out you might want to pick a less costly wool simply because you won’t be forking out a ton every time you make a mistake.

Tip: DK wool works great with 4mm needles, is the most common type of wool and also one of the cheapest. A.k.a best wool for beginners :P.

Opportunity to Practice
A lot of people start with scarves which are awesome and if you want to start with one then that’s great! But I think there are a few flaws.

Scarves are very long – if you muck up in the beginning you can unwind easily, muck up 2ft down and you may have wasted 2 months+ work…

With squares there is constant practice at casting on and off (which is sometimes daunting for beginners) as well as garter stitch or any other stitch for that matter.

Visual Achievement
As I mentioned before, scarves are very long, meaning they take a very long time and sometimes you can’t see the progress you are making unless you look at it between longer periods of time. To this day I have never actually made a scarf – but I have started a ton of them.

With blankets made in squares you can do a square here, a square there and still see you are shavingย the number of squares you have to do.

Tip: Sew it up as you go along to really see the difference between each knitting session.

Portable
With squares you can bring a single ball of wool, a pair of needles and a pair of scissors. You don’t have to wait till you get home or plan in time to sit down and work on it. I have knitted whilst waiting for the doctors, on the train and whilst watching TV. Its brilliant.

If you really wanna take advantage of knitting on the move invest in a mini row counter you can add to your needles or a row counter app for your phone. Both android and iOS have some great free apps that give you freedom to customize with your own projects.

And these are my reasons and tips for making a blanket as a beginners knitting project. If you have any questions or comments please feel free to leave them below or on my contact page.

Ruthie ~

 

 

2 thoughts on “Best Knitting Project For Beginners

  1. Hi Ruth, thanks for this blog post! I’ve been thinking about starting knitting for ages hut never got around to it because I didn’t know where to begin and no one else I know does it so I wouldn’t know who to turn to! But you’ve definitely made it less daunting and more tackle-able. I’ve a question on one of your statements, about using cheap wool so it doesn’t go to waste if there’s a mistake: why would it be going to waste, can it not be unravelled and reused? Thanks again for the great post!

    Like

    • Hi Tsing! Most of the time it can be unravelled, sometimes I found I could get knots in the wool when unravelling or knitting in general. Also sometimes if the wool is unravelled it gets kinks in it – though these can be straightened out when knitting again. Its all up to persobal preference ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

