Extremely late Chuseok Greetings

It feels like forever since I decided to start this blog and I have to admit my procrastination has reached new levels.

Chuseok fell on 16th September 2016 last year though I had already been in Korea for a month at that point. I wrote one blog post on my previous blog which you can read here. It talks about the trials of my first 72 hours and how I almost went home as soon as I got off the plane.

But enough about that, onto the adventures that came with Chuseok.

So Chuseok is a lot like American Thanksgiving (so I understand) although there is a lot more ancestral worship and honoring involved. It is a national holiday lasting  days in total and because the first of those days was a Wednesday, I got a 5 day weekend off school (yay me!).

I stayed indoors for most of it but decided to make the most of the cultural activities on the Friday. A lot of the traditional palaces and museums had days chocker-blocked with performances, hands on experiences and much more. In the end me and a friend decided we would go to the Folk Museum in Gwanghwamun (광화문) after looking at their online program.

It took us a little while to figure out how to actually get to the museum as it was located behind Gyeongbokgung Palace (경복궁) which has such a fascinating history I will probably write about in a future post. Once we eventually found it, we had a fun 2-3 hours and saw enough Hanboks to fill Gwangjang Market (광장시장, Market in Seoul known for Hanboks).

We even got to try some on!

20160916_141051

Me in my lovely Hanbok complete with cute hairband!

The women at the Hanbok station were so lovely, they helped you pick one out, told you where to put your things, helped dress you including accessories and then took your picture for you! We were surprised that there were so many Koreans there but it just goes to show how important the traditional costume is to Korean culture.

After a fun 45 minutes (if you add in the queue time which moved very quickly), we moved onto the main courtyard where there were games for kids, musical instrument workshops, craft stalls and some awesome performances.

wp-1489456301764.jpg

The female version of the paper-folding Hanbok activity

The woman running this stall was lovely and spoke some English although I tried to use as much Korean as possible (always get a positive reaction when you try and speak Korean). It cost something like 3000 won which was nothing!

We also visited the international food stall where they had some Japanese and Chinese snacks to try for 1000 won each. We both ended up getting Chinese moon cakes which were like rock cakes (raisins and all!).

We headed off shortly after finishing out crafts and bought some street food to tide us over till McDonalds for dinner.

A bit of late exploring after dropping my friend at the train station led me to a river! I had no idea I was this close to nature. The Wiccan heart in me jumped for joy at this, being a Scorpio and all water is so soothing.

And that was my wonderful Thanksgiving adventure, stay tuned for more adventures,

~ Ruthie

Leave a Reply

